University of Northern Iowa to host commencements on May 10 -11<br>

Posted on Sunday, May 5th, 2002

Phil Patton, UNI Registrar, (319) 273-2283
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa will hold a total of six commencement ceremonies between Friday, May 10, and Saturday, May 11, all in the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center. Graduate students will receive their degrees during a 7 p.m. ceremony Friday, May 10, while undergraduates will receive their degrees during one of five ceremonies Saturday, May 11. Commencement was moved due to roof repairs at the UNI-Dome, the traditional location.

UNI President Robert Koob will preside over each ceremony and confer degrees on the students. Aaron Podolefsky, vice president for academic affairs and provost, will recognize and award honors.

Candidates for degrees will be presented by the deans of their respective colleges: John W. Somervill, Graduate College; Farzad Moussavi, (interim dean), College of Business Administration; Thomas J. Switzer, College of Education; James F. Lubker, College of Humanities and Fine Arts; Kichoon Yang, College of Natural Sciences; James Bodensteiner (interim dean), Division of Continuing Education and Special Programs; and Phyllis Baker, (associate dean), College of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

A senior class gift presentation will be made at each of the undergraduate ceremonies. This year the class gift, in the amount of $4,730, will provide a bench and arbor combination for the planned gardens beside Maucker Union. Construction of the gardens is scheduled to begin this summer.

Students will deliver an address at all but one of the ceremonies. Elvinet S. Wilson, a communication studies major from Cedar Falls, will give the student address at the Graduate College commencement.

Saturday's commencement ceremonies will begin at 9 a.m., with the College of Business Administration. Laurie Lynn Rueber, an accounting and finance double major from Arlington, will give the student address.

At 11 a.m., the College of Education will begin commencement. A student address will be given by Philip E. Hess, an elementary education-teaching major, from Wheatland.

The College of Humanities and Fine Arts will hold its commencement at 1 p.m. Jesse Michael Sheedy, philosophy major from Eldridge, will be addressing the students.

At 3 p.m., the College of Natural Sciences and the Division of Continuing Education and Special Programs will hold a combined commencement.

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences will begin commencement at 5 p.m. and Amy Lynn Johnson, a political science major from Pocahontas, will deliver the student address.