University Book & Supply recognizes excellence in non-tenured faculty

Posted on Wednesday, April 20th, 2005

Frank Esser, director of collegiate development, University Advancement, (319) 273-6078
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-6728

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Six University of Northern Iowa non-tenured faculty members were recently honored with the University Book & Supply (UBS) Outstanding Teaching Award.

The award recognizes outstanding teaching skills and contributions to their profession by faculty who have not yet been awarded tenure and includes a $1,000 cash gift, administered through the UNI Foundation.

Those honored are: Jim Mattingly, assistant professor of management, College of Business Administration; Anna Donaldson, assistant professor of education, College of Education; Paul Turman, assistant professor of communication, College of Humanities & Fine Arts; Marius Somodi, assistant professor of mathematics, College of Natural Sciences; and Catherine DeSoto and Kim MacLin, both assistant professors of psychology, sharing the award for the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences.

'Because the university seeks to maintain a high level of academics through hiring dedicated professors, UBS offers these awards to uphold that value,' said Rose Lorenz, UBS president. 'By offering this award, we hope the recognitions enhances UNI's strong supportive culture and reinforces the community's quality of life so that young faculty continue their careers here.'

The recipients also attended a luncheon April 21with the UBS board of directors: Rose Lorenz, Doug Johnson, Coreen Mattfeld, Kathleen Hesse and Denise Brown.