Share this

University Book & Supply presents Outstanding Teaching Awards

April 7, 2014

Gloria Gibson, executive vice president and provost, 319-273-2517,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Gloria Gibson, University of Northern Iowa executive vice president and provost, has announced the winners of the University Book & Supply (UBS) Outstanding Teaching Awards for 2014. The awards honor pre-tenure faculty members who have shown significant contributions to the quality of teaching.

The winners are Sarah Vander Zanden, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Sheila Benson, assistant professor of languages and literatures; Nicholas Schwab, assistant professor of psychology; and Russell Guay, assistant professor of management.

Criteria for the awards include taking student needs and interests into considerable account, demonstrating a mastery of a variety of instructional techniques, and preparing and using innovative classroom strategies and materials. Nominations are made by faculty, staff and students.

UBS teaching award winners