Share this

UNI's NUHS choir performs at New York's Carnegie Hall

June 5, 2003

Linda Sharp, assistant professor of teaching, Northern University High School, (319) 273-6236
Gwenne Culpepper, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The Northern University High School (NUHS) Choir traveled to Carnegie Hall in New York in late May for a 21-minute performance in the famed concert venue. The choir was invited by Tim Peter of Luther College to participate in his conducting debut at Carnegie. Through an audition, the group also won a solo performance spot.

The school raised nearly $100,000 so the 65-member choir could make the trip. NUHS choral students who made the trip are Matt Adams, Joannie Anderson, Sam Backstrom, Jennifer Bertram, Jessica Bertram, Joel Brumm, Hannah Buck, Sarah Bumpus, Zach Campbell, Mackenzie Carlisle, Morgan Cawley, Lyndsey Cochran, Mae Colburn, Anjelica Crawford, Ben Davidson, Jacinda Davis, Melanie DeVries, Ashley Dorris, Henry Ensworth, Louisa Ensworth, Allyse Fairbanks, Allison Fryman, Michaela Gansen, Jennifer Grabowski, Joy Hanson, Allison Hardy, Emily Hershberger, Vanessa Hershberger, Audrey Hesse, Ellen Hills, Jimmy Hunter, Toby Jessen, Sandra King, Nora Kischer-Browne, Amanda Koch, Stephanie Langenwalter, Megan Miller, Marketia Moore-Hill, Abhay Nadipuram, Nate Ohrt, Ashley O'Kane, John Paar, Andrew Page, Lauren Page, Laurie Reimer, Kasey Renfro, Sami Renfro, Brittany Rideout, Kent Schrad, Leigha Shanley, Amber Smith, Ras Smith, Ben Strever, Kiedra Stuelke, Brittany Waack, Eleanor Wehner, Clair Williams, Rob Williams and Reggie Woods.

Linda Sharp, assistant professor of teaching, is the choir director. Mabel Rempe of LaPorte City is the accompanist. Carnegie Steering Committee members are NU parents Dale and Paula Schrad, Arlene Prather O'Kane, Sue and Duke Strever and Dominique Cawley, all of whom traveled with the group. Also chaperoning were Nadene Davidson, Price Laboratory School (PLS) director; BJ Herrick, PLS instructor; and NU parents Andrea King, Jeff Koch, Cindy Page, Terry Buck, Tonda Foster, Carolyn Gray and Margo Campbell. Additional steering committee members are NU parents Dave and Maureen Collins-Williams.