Newsroom

UNI statewide education field trip for American Education Week

Posted on Monday, November 16th, 2015
Contact: 

Amy Petersen, chair, UNI College of Education Faculty Senate, 319-273-7959, amy.petersen@uni.edu

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728, lindsay.cunnngham@uni.edu

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- For American Education Week, the University of Northern Iowa College of Education faculty will host a statewide field trip Nov.16 through 20 to learn from professional educators across the state of Iowa about current best practices, trends and challenges in education.

There will be four site visits in the Des Moines area:

 

- Monday, Nov. 16, at Des Moines University. The three UNI faculty members participating include: Robin Lund, associate professor of health, physical education and leisure services (319-273-3615 or robin.lund@uni.edu); Travis Ficklin, assistant professor of health, physical education and leisure services (319-273-6478 or travis.ficklin@uni.edu); and Windee Weiss, interim associate dean and professor in the College of Education (319-273-2011 or windee.weiss@uni.edu).

 

- Tuesday, Nov. 17, at Maple Grove Elementary in Waukee. The two UNI faculty members participating include: Amy Lockhart, instructor and field experience coordinator (319-273-2209 or amy.lockhart@uni.edu) and Kim Miller, instructor of teaching (319-273-3127 or kim.miller@uni.edu).

 

- Wednesday, Nov.18, at Stilwell Junior High in West Des Moines. The two UNI faculty members participating include: Curt Nielsen, assistant professor of education and field experience coordinator (319-273-2608 or curt.nielsen@uni.edu), and Tim Gilson, associate professor in educational leadership and postsecondary education (319-273-2636 or tim.gilson@uni.edu).

 

- Friday, Nov. 20, at Ankeny Centennial High School. The three UNI faculty members participating include: Benjamin Forsyth, assistant professor of educational psychology and foundations (319-273-7901 or benjamin.forsyth@uni.edu); Steve VanderPol, instructor of teaching (319-273-2202 or steve.vanderpol@uni.edu); and Rob Boody, department head and professor of educational psychology and foundations (319-273-6198 or robert.boody@uni.edu).

Amy Petersen, chair for the College of Education Faculty Senate, explains the field trip is a way to reconnect with professionals in the numerous education fields and develop partnership and collaboration opportunities.

"Our faculty pride themselves on being collaborative learners themselves, so we continue learning from our education colleagues across the state," said Petersen. "We know there are countless untold stories of sound and instructional innovations that can contribute to our own teaching."

Media are encouraged to visit the schools and museums when UNI faculty members are present so they can learn about local education innovations. 

For more information, contact Petersen at 319-273-7959 or amy.petersen@uni.edu