Share this

UNI Spirit Squads take awards at summer competition<br>

August 29, 2002

Jori Wade-Booth, UNI dance team coach, (319) 352-9149, (319) 352-3334
Gwenne Culpepper, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Members of the University of Northern Iowa Spirit Squad recently attended the Universal Cheer and Dance Association (UCA/UDA) College Spirit Camp and Competition in Milwaukee, and received awards for program improvement and overall preparation.

The Spirit Squad is made up of the UNI cheer squad, dance team and mascots. The UCA/UDA camp is the largest college camp of its kind in the world and hosts more than 1,500 cheerleaders, dancers and mascots from the United States and Puerto Rico.

The cheer squad was awarded third place in the sideline competition and received UCA's first-ever Game Day Award for innovative game-day agendas.

The dancers were awarded the Program Improvement trophy and a Superior Rating trophy for overall performance.

The mascots were awarded fourth place for overall performance. This is the first time UNI mascots have received this award.

The UNI Spirit Squads are advised by Ryan McKernan. The UNI Dance Team is coached by Jori Wade-Booth. For more information, visit

Members of the dance team are Lauren Baker of Norwalk, Ashley Brumbaugh of Mt. Pleasant, Kristi Carlberg of Stratford, Stacey Conaway and Kelsie Dawson of Webster City, Lindsey Cutsforth of Waterloo, Holly Davis and Stephanie Guiter of Knoxville, Lindsay Fawcett of Huxley, Franny Horton of Sioux City, Molly McCarthy of Cascade, Jen Lorenz of Cedar Rapids, Mychele Sealine of Dexter, Jennifer Stephens of Marion.

Cheer squad members are Ashley Atherton, Linzie Sawyer and Erin Gavin of Cedar Falls;Courtney Chapman of West Des Moines; Angie Cline of Sioux City; Natalie Ehrecke of Bettendorf; Carly Farnsworth of Waukee; Andrew Fitzpatrick of Boone; Zach French and Joel Shugart of Cedar Rapids; Sarah Hall of Swisher; Matt Hartman of Waverly; Scott Hoelscher of Williams; Ryan Muhlenbruch of Dows; Jamie Pearsall of Davenport; Leslie Pierce of Oregon, Ill.; Philip Pierce of Gary, Ind.; Amanda Rios of Marion; Sam Shafer of Williamsburg; and Ryan Takatsuka and Jackie Whittier of Fort Dodge.

Mascots are Matt Stockdale of Aplington, and Brant Haywood of Eldora.