Share this

UNI School of Music to host 31st annual Scholarship Benefit Concert

September 12, 2012

Caroline Boehmer, communication and operations coordinator, UNI School of Music, 319-273-2028,

Stacey Christensen, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,


School of Music logo

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- "120 Years: The Road to Excellence!" will be the theme of the 31st annual Scholarship Benefit Concert, hosted by the University of Northern Iowa School of Music. The concert begins at 7:30 p.m., on Friday, Sept. 28, in the Great Hall at the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center (GBPAC).

This year's event will commemorate the School of Music's 120th anniversary by featuring music from faculty artists Sean Botkin, Randy Grabowski and John Hines. Also featured in the concert are the Northern Iowa Wind Symphony, the UNI Varsity Men's Glee Club, Jazz Band One, the Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra, the UNI Opera Ensemble, UNI Singers and Concert Chorale.

Following the concert there will be hors d'oeuvres and music in the lobby, with a performance by the Hands of Time Quartet, as well as post-show performances in Davis Hall by School of Music faculty artists Sean Botkin, Chris Buckholz, Serena Hou, Amanda McCandless and Yu-Ting Su. Preshow music will be provided by Angeleita Floyd and the Northern Iowa Flute Choir.

The Scholarship Benefit Concerts have been raising scholarship funds for exceptionally talented music students and students in need since 1982. All seats for the benefit concert are reserved. Individual tickets may be purchased in person at the Gallagher-Bluedorn box office, by calling 319-273-4TIX or 877-549-SHOW (7469) or at To become a special donor and receive complimentary tickets, contact the School of Music office by calling 319-273-2025.

For more information on this event or the UNI School of Music, contact Caroline Boehmer, UNI School of Music communication and operations coordinator at 319-273-2028 or