Share this

UNI presents Grace Ann Hovet Student Leadership Awards

April 28, 2003

Marge Rostyne, UNI student organizations and activities coordinator, (319) 273-6335
James O'Connor, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa recently presented the annual Grace Ann Hovet Student Leadership Awards to outstanding student organizations, student leaders and organization advisors for the 2002-2003 academic year.

The following students were recognized for their leadership achievements: Recognized as Outstanding Student Organization Officer was Tina Heeren, a senior public relations major, marketing minor, from Akron. Heeren is president of the UNI chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA); Outstanding Member in a Student Organization was awarded to Jenni Burkle, a junior marketing major from Manchester, for her accomplishments with Student Alumni Ambassadors (SAA); and Outstanding New Member in a Student Organization was awarded to David Kniffen, a freshman business major from Williamsburg, for his membership in Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity.

Other awards included; SAA, Overall Outstanding Student Organization; Fr. John Haugen, Catholic Student Association, Outstanding Advisor to a Student Organization; Outstanding Leadership Development Among Members, PRSSA; Development of Diversity Awareness Among Members, Hispanic/Latino Student Union and the Student Life Team; and Service to the UNI Community, Catholic Student Association.

The awards are sponsored by Maucker Union Student Activities, Education & Student Services and the Leadership Studies Program.