Share this

UNI flag football team advances to national tournament

December 8, 2002

Cindy Klatt, intramural sports coordinator, Wellness and Recreation Services, (319) 273-7262
Melissa Barber, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa's intramural flag football champions, The Crew, recently won the 2002 regional flag football tournament in Lincoln, Neb.

After winning the UNI championship, The Crew advanced to regional competition where they placed first among the 47 teams that participated.

As regional champions, The Crew will participate in the 24 th annual national flag football tournament in New Orleans from Dec. 27 to 31.

___(NAME)____, a __(MAJOR)___ major from ___(HOMETOWN)____ is one of the 11 team members competing on The Crew.

Chase Young of Johnston was named to the first team on offense, while Brian Claassen of Iowa City and Brad Sewell of Ankeny were named to the first team on defense. Trent Mausser of El Paso was named most valuable player of the tournament.

Note: To obtain a list of the students, please contact the Office of University Marketing and Public Relations at 319.273-2761.