Share this

UNI Department of Residence 'Building Better Future' leadership conference big success

January 20, 2003

Scott Mitchell, hall coordinator, (319) 273-2229
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa's Department of Residence was the host team for the Midwest Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls (MACURH) annual conference held Nov. 15-17. The conference was attended by more than 600 leaders from 65 colleges and universities in Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota and Manitoba, Canada.

The conference was planned and implemented by students. UNI students who participated in the conference include ___(NAME)___, a ___(CLASSIFICATION/ MAJOR)___ from ___(HOMETOWN)___. In addition, there were almost 200 UNI volunteers. The group was advised by hall coordinators David 'Schimiddy' Schmid, Greg Thompson, Trisha Hoffman, Krista Prather and assistant coordinators Jessie Pondell and Heather Smith. The primary advisor was Scott Mitchell, hall coordinator.

Events at the conference included student leaders presenting successful activities and events that have occurred on their campuses. Participants also shared new ideas to improve their campuses and the lives of the students who live in the residence halls.

Conference attendees also contributed over $700 worth of tools and cash to support the Greater Black Hawk Chapter of Habitat for Humanity.

Note to editors: Students are listed below in alphabetical order by hometown with Iowa residents first.


ANKENY Tara Tyler, junior, elementary education

BOONE Ryan Stone, junior, elementary education

CORRECTIONVILLE Luke Demarest, junior, elementary education

DAVENPORT Lauren Miller, junior, art

DECORAH Lynnette Keune, junior, accounting

DES MOINES Emily Sanders, junior, psychology

DIKE Jenny Rokes, sophomore, history

DUBUQUE Brad Scardino, senior, Public Relations

and Organizational Communication

ELKADER Brandi Henning, junior, speech pathology

FAIRFIELD Katie Doyle, senior, elementary education

FAYETTE Renee Maurer, sophomore, elementary education

HAZLETON Hollie McLaren, junior, management

LAUREL Annie Kimberley, senior, special education

MARCUS John Volkert, sophomore, management

MARION Stacy McEowen, junior, elementary education

MILFORD Brock Holman, junior, elementary education

NEVADA Ashley Kockler, sophomore, general studies

NORTH ENGLISH Chrissy VanBerkum, junior, political science

SIOUX CITY Val Anderson, senior, psychology

WATERLOO Brenda Yuska, junior, elementary education

WAUCOMA Ben Manderfield, junior, construction management

WEST UNION Kassie Osmundson, sophomore, general studies

WINFIELD Maranda Connop, senior, history


CARY, ILL. Sarah Meyer, junior, mathematics