Share this

UNI announces winners of leadership awards

April 12, 2017

Steffoni Schmidt, associate director, Student Life and Event Services, 319-273-7422,

Blake Ruane, Office of University Relations, 319-273-2761,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – The University of Northern Iowa recognized students during the Student Leadership Awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 11. Awards were presented to students, student organizations and advisors for outstanding student leadership throughout the 2016-17 academic year.

The list of awards and award winners include:

UNI C.A.R.E. (Creating A Responsible Environment) Awards. These are awarded to UNI students, faculty, staff, organizations or programs that have demonstrated outstanding commitment to and a positive impact on a sustainable future. Recipients are Leslie Fink and Ron Kohnke.

Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for Women in Leadership. This scholarship recognizes students for their leadership contributions during their tenure at UNI and potential to model leadership for women. This year's recipient is Lulua Rawwas.

Student Employee of the Year. Finalists for this award are selected based on the impact of their contribution, their initiative, professionalism and quality of work. This year's recipient is Casey Hoekstra.

Drake Martin Gold Star Awards. These are awarded to student leaders for outstanding contributions to on-campus living at UNI. This is the highest residential leadership award at UNI and has been presented annually since 1989. Recipients are Morgan Dobroski, Kinsey Doerr, Jesse Heath, Brooke Howsare and Claire Nichols.

Student Organization Advisor of the Year. This award recognizes a student organization advisor who has excelled and exemplified outstanding service, dedication and leadership to the organization to distinguish itself. This year's recipient is Jenny Connolly.

Most Promising New Leader in a Student Organization. This award recognizes a member in a student organization who has demonstrated emerging leadership in the organization, a commitment to developing his or her leadership ability, and has exceeded the expectations of the membership of the organization. This year’s recipient is Jacob Levang.

- Greek 360 Award. This award recognizes a member of the UNI Fraternity & Sorority Life community who is also an outstanding member of other student organizations on campus. This year’s recipient is Jared Riter.

Student Organization Program of Distinction. This award recognizes significant achievements by student organizations in the planning and presentation of programs. Recipients are the Make a Difference Day: Domestic Violence Awareness (presented by Service & Leadership Council), Pay It Forward Tour (presented by Students Today Leaders Forever) and Sexual Assault Awareness Week (presented by Sigma Phi Epsilon).

- Most Promising New Student Organization. This award recognizes a new student organization that has demonstrated significant motivation, creativity, innovation and perseverance. This year’s recipient is United Dance Company.

Student Organization of the Year. This award recognizes a student organization that has exemplified excellence among its peers in the dedication and development of its members, and its contributions to the campus community and beyond. This year's recipient is International Student Promoters.

- Diversity Matters Award. This award is presented in recognition of dedication and service to the university in advancement of its diversity-related goals. This year’s recipients are Juana Hollingsworth and Emily Hummel.

Servant Leader Award. This award recognizes those who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first. Recipients are Angie Davison, Hunter Flesch, Maddie Grimm, Brook Howsare, Chris Kennedy, Melanie Majeed, Zubair Naeem, Claire Nichols and Sarah Rudy.

Outstanding Student Leader. This award recognizes students who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities. Recipients are Brianne Michelle Baylor, Mallory Elizabeth Feeney, Aaron Friel, Madison Gavin, Jill Georgen, Matthew Eugene Klein and Diksha Ojha.

Lux Service Award. This award is the most prestigious award given to graduating senior students each academic year to acknowledge the culmination of their overall involvement. Recipients consistently go above and beyond, leaving a lasting legacy upon graduation. Recipients are Megan Kennedy, Micah Zeimetz and Kadesha Zimmerman.