UNI announces winners of leadership awards

Posted on Wednesday, May 6th, 2015

Lisa Kratz, director, Maucker Union, 319-273-2554,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa recently recognized graduating seniors at the Student Leadership Awards Ceremony on April 21, where students are awarded for their outstanding leadership in organizations across campus. The awards given are the Outstanding Student Award and the Servant Leadership Award.

The Outstanding Student Leader Award recognizes students who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities. This year's recipients of the Outstanding Student Leadership Award are Joslyn Aldape (Huntley, Ill.); Kevin Gartman (Waukee); Carl Reitz (Denison); Brooke Brown (Chanhassen, Minn.); Corey Cooling (Vinton); and Vanessa Espinoza (Conesville).

The Servant Leadership Award recognizes those who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first. This year's recipients of the Servant Leadership Award are Fariha Afzal (Cedar Falls); Haley Hasenstein (Bartlett, Ill.); Madison Gavin (Adel); Austin Hansen (Cedar Falls); Paul Andersen (Ankeny); Walter Abrego (Denison); Brianna Fisher (Davenport); and Alyssa Turcsak (Davenport).

For more information on Student Leadership Awards, visit or contact Lisa Kratz, director of Maucker Union, at 319-273-2554 or