Share this

UNI announces high school art scholarship winners

April 28, 2003

Tim Dooley, UNI assistant professor and scholarship committee chair, (319) 273-2498
Mary Frisbee Johnson, head, UNI Department of Art, (319) 273-2077
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa ï¾– The University of Northern Iowa Department of Art has announced the winners of the 2003 High School Art Scholarship Competition held earlier this month at the Kamerick Art Building on the UNI campus.

The competition featured the work of 29 high school seniors. Two students were given four-year instate tuition scholarships. They are Kate Fitzpatrick, Storm Lake High School, instructed by Anita Coon and Ron Netten; and Charlee Rogers, Marshalltown High School, instructed by Julie Bousum, Kirk Niehouse and Mary Tordsen.

Selected as alternate to receive an award in the event either of the winners chooses not to accept the scholarship was Scott Ephraim, Cedar Falls High School. His instructors are Randy Marcussen, Robert McCullough and Lisa Renze.

In addition to the scholarship competition, the event included a keynote address by Kevin Kelley, UNI alumnus and Emmy award-winning documentary filmmaker, as well as exhibitions, lectures, demonstrations, and other special events.