Share this

UNI alumni and friends to be honored at Distinguished Awards Celebration

August 29, 2013

Noreen Hermansen, interim director, UNI Alumni Association, 319-273-6078,

Bill Calhoun, president, UNI Foundation, 319-273-6078,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa Alumni Association and UNI Foundation will host the Distinguished Awards Celebration during a luncheon and program at 11:45 a.m., Saturday, Sept. 7, in the Maucker Union Ballroom. The awards program includes the annual Heritage Honours Awards and the President's Philanthropy Awards. Alumni and friends will be recognized for their professional accomplishments and service to the university.

Recipients of the Heritage Honours Awards include:

Mark Oman (B.A. '76) will receive the Alumni Achievement Award for his outstanding overall professional accomplishments in the field of business. He was inducted into the Iowa Business Hall of Fame in 2007. He serves as a member of the UNI Foundation board of trustees and was co-chair of the Imagine the Impact Campaign.

Beverly Wynn Riess (B.A. '78) will receive the Alumni Service Award for her continuous service to UNI. Prior to her retirement in 2011, she assisted UNI with community outreach and marketing in Des Moines. She also served on the UNI Alumni Association board of directors and UNI Foundation board of trustees.

Matt Harris (B.A. '04) will receive the Young Alumnus Award, which recognizes graduates 40 years old or younger who have excelled in their professions. Harris is the director of Des Moines Performing Arts. He also serves on the board of directors for Arts Midwest and Character Counts in Iowa.

Keith and Joyce Borglum will receive the Honorary Alumni Award for their exceptional support of UNI. They have been major supporters of the McLeod Center and have established a Panther Champions Scholarship Fund and the Borglum Men's Basketball Enhancement Fund.

Recipients of the President's Philanthropy Awards include:

Jackson Baty (M.A. '68) will receive the Faculty and Staff Award for dedicated long-term service to UNI. Baty is professor emeritus in Educational Psychology & Foundations. He established the Emma Jackson Baty Endowed Journalism Scholarship in memory of his mother. His long-time support includes 40 consecutive years of giving through the UNI Foundation.

David Martinson (B.A. '89) will receive the Emerging Philanthropist Award for support and creative leadership. Martinson is chair of the 2013 Panther Scholarship Club fund drive and is president of the Panther Scholarship Club. He supports the Head Football Coach Fund and the Head Men's Basketball Coach Fund.

University Book & Supply will receive the Corporate and Foundation Award for their significant leadership to students and faculty. The company has contributed to all of UNI's major fundraising campaigns, created the Faculty Excellence Awards program, provided support to UNI athletics and music programs, and served on numerous committees and boards.

To learn more about the award recipients or the UNI Alumni Association, visit To learn more about the UNI Foundation, visit