Share this

UNI alumni and friends to be honored at Distinguished Awards Celebration

September 4, 2012

Bill Calhoun, president, UNI Foundation, Development and Alumni Relations, 319-273-6078,

Amy Mohr, president, UNI Alumni Association, 319-273-2355,

Stacey Christensen, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa Alumni Association and the UNI Foundation will host a Distinguished Awards Celebration during a luncheon and program at 11:45 a.m., Saturday, Sept. 8, in the UNI Commons. Tickets are available for $15 by calling 319-273-6078. The awards program includes the annual Heritage Honours Awards and the new President's Philanthropy Awards. Alumni and friends will be recognized for their professional accomplishments and service to the university.

 Recipients of the Heritage Honours Awards include:

 - Mildred Wood (B.A. '56, M.A. '62) will receive the Alumni Achievement Award for her outstanding overall professional accomplishments in the field of learning disabilities.

 - Sandy Stevens (B.A. '62) will receive the Alumni Service Award for her continuous service to UNI. Stevens has given tirelessly of her time to the UNI Alumni Association. She served on the board of directors for 10 years, including three as chairperson.

 - Jason Kilborn (B.A. '94) will receive the Young Alumnus Award, which recognizes graduates of 40 years of age or younger who have excelled in their professions. Kilborn is a professor of law at The John Marshall Law School in Chicago, and he established the Jason Kilborn Study Abroad Fund for students at UNI.

- Ed Gallagher will receive the Honorary Alumnus Award for exceptional support of UNI as a Trustee for the UNI Foundation. He showed extraordinary leadership as chair of the board and as a volunteer during three fundraising campaigns for the university.


Recipients of the President's Philanthropy Awards include:


- Gary (B.A. '62) and Myrna (B.A. '63) Floyd will receive the Purple and Gold Award for long-time support of UNI. The Floyd's endowed a scholarship for future science educators, and annually fund two undergraduate research assistantships in the Department of Biology.

- John Deere will receive the Corporate and Foundation Award for their significant leadership to students and faculty. Since 1971, John Deere has given more than $3 million in support of scholarships, programs and facilities.

 - Carl (B.A. '51, M.A. '59) and Wanda (B.A. '52, M.A. '66) Wehner will receive the Faculty and Staff Award for dedicated long-term service and support to UNI.  The Wehner's fund an annual undergraduate research award and have established four endowed scholarships in support of students.

 - Michael (B.A. '92) and Jacqueline (B.A. '93) Mrosko will receive the Emerging Philanthropist Award for support and creative leadership. The Mrosko's created an endowed scholarship for international travel, and also endowed scholarships in accounting and education.

To learn more about the award recipients or the UNI Alumni Association, visit To learn more about the UNI Foundation, visit