Share this

Three UNI faculty members named Fulbright recipients

June 26, 2012

Nadia Korbova, assistant director, UNI International Programs, 319-273-7424,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Three University of Northern Iowa faculty members have been named Fulbright scholars for 2012-2013. Professors Bettina Fabos, Kevin Finn and Tammy Gregersen have each been selected as recipients to undertake advanced research or teach abroad.

The Fulbright Program, one of the most prestigious award programs in the world, is sponsored by the United States Department of State and Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, and provides merit-based grants for international educational exchange.  Founded in 1946 under legislation introduced by then Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has sent more than 110,000 U.S. citizen faculty members, students, professionals and artists overseas to more than 150 countries and brought more than 175,000 foreign faculty members, students, professionals and artists to the United States.

Fabos, associate professor of communication studies, will conduct research at Central European University in Hungary. Fabos' project will include researching 10 Hungarian photographic archives in order to create a visualization of 20th century history in the country.

Finn, associate professor of health, physical education and leisure services, will also conduct research in Hungary. The University of West Hungary will host Finn as he studies the physical activity levels of inhabitants in the northwest portion of the country.

Gregersen, associate professor of languages and literatures, will teach a graduate course in language assessment at the University of Santiago in Chile. The course will professionally develop K through 12 teachers and generate curriculum for potential student exchanges.

For additional information on the 2012-2013 UNI Fulbright recipients, visit or contact UNI International Programs at 319-273-2921.