Share this

Three finalists chosen for the John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition

September 10, 2013

Randy Pilkington, Director, UNI John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center, (319) 273-5732

Rebecca Schultze, Communications & Public Relations Manager, College of Business, (319) 273-3309

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition committee announced today that three finalists will be recognized at a special awards luncheon in Des Moines on September 26th.

After a review of the submitted business plans, seven businesses were selected to present to the judging panel comprised of the five John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (JPEC) representatives and the Iowa Small Business Development Center.  The committee is proud to announce the three finalists in the competition, listed in alphabetical order:

Memcine Pharmaceuticals Inc. - Memcine Pharmaceuticals Inc. developed the platform technology for the improvement of vaccine efficacy against infectious diseases and cancer therapeutics.  The company was founded in 2010 and is located in Coralville.

r-pipe - R-pipe is a civil engineering company that makes pipe from waste material that is lighter, more durable, as strong, and is slightly less expensive than concrete pipe.  The company was founded in 2013 and is located in Ames.

ScoutPro Inc. - ScoutPro Inc. uses a crop scouting system developed by crop scouts to insure accurate, efficient identification and management. The company was founded in 2011 and is based in Ames.

The three finalists and their ranking will be announced at a special awards luncheon on September 26th at Drake University.  Governor Branstad will provide a keynote message.  Awards are $25,000 for first place, $15,000 for second place and $10,000 for third place.

"This year's completion included some outstanding business plans, probably the strongest and most promising plans during our eight years of conducting the competition" said Randy Pilkington, director of the UNI JPEC.  "Iowa's economy will be positively impacted as all the competitors succeed and grow."

John Pappajohn stated "I hope this competition will stimulate additional entrepreneurial activity throughout the state and that those businesses who participated will continue to access the resources of the JPECs, business accelerators and SBDCs to help them accelerate their growth."

The John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Centers are located at Drake University, Iowa State University, North Iowa Area Community College, the University of Iowa and the University of Northern Iowa. The centers provide entrepreneurial education and business support, partnering with agencies like the Small Business Development Center (SBDC), the Iowa Economic Development Authority  (IEDA), Entrepreneurial Development Centers (EDCs) and local entrepreneurs to assist with funding and other business needs.

For additional information about the competition, please contact one of the JPEC centers via the information below. Contact information for the three finalists is also attached.

Drake University John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Debra Bishop



Iowa State University John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Judi Eyles



North Iowa Area Community College John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Jamie Zanios



University of Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

David Hensley



University of Northern Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Randy Pilkington



Finalist Contact Information (In Alphabetical Order)


Memcine Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Contact: Tony Vanden Bush



Contact: Tom Cackler


ScoutPro Inc.

Contact: Holden Nyhus