Share this

Sturgis Youth Theatre presents 'The Wizard of Oz'

July 6, 2003

Jascenna Haislet-Carlson, marketing director, UNI Department of Theatre, (319) 273-6387
James O'Connor, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Sturgis Youth Theatre will present its fourth-annual all-youth summer theatre production, L. Frank Baum's 'The Wizard of Oz,' by Anne Coulter Martens, at the Oster Regent Theatre, July 17 ï¾– 19, at 7 p.m.

Director Gretta Berghammer, Sturgis Youth Theatre artistic director and UNI professor of theatre, chose 'The Wizard of Oz' in celebration of the story's 100th anniversary.

Under the supervision of technical director Chris Blad, costume designer Jade Bettin, and publicist Jascenna Haislet-Carlson, the cast is responsible for the creation of scenery, props, costumes and publicity.

Theatre UNI staff designer Mark A. Parrott designed the scenery for the production. Justin Hossle, a theatre major at UNI, will serve as stage manager and lighting designer.

Founded in 1999, the Sturgis Youth Theatre is a collaborative effort of the Cedar Falls Community Theatre, the Hearst Center for the Arts, and the UNI Department of Theatre. Its mission is to provide quality productions, meaningful production experiences, and varied theatre study opportunities for the youth of Cedar Falls and surrounding communities.

The cast includes nearly 50 children ages seven to 17 from Cedar Falls and Waterloo. Cast members include Carter Allen, Elizabeth Boody, Virginia Boody, Alexandra Bowman, Michael Bowman, Jennifer Camarata, Cheyenne Carter, Manda Colbert, Kieran Cowden, Mackenzie Cowden, Cassandra Crotty, Alexa Deines, Maggie Devine, Elizabeth Dobson, Allison Dryer, Heather Edeker, Abby Engel, Rachel Fritts, Allison Fryman, Lisa Gansen, Danielle Glaspie, Elena Houseal, Hannah Howland, Jennifer Hurban, Savannah Ivey, Jessica Jenkins, Kristine Johanning, Krista Lee, Sam Lilja, Dylan Martin, Riley Martin, Tessa Michaelsen, Thea Moe, Africa O'Nealsisk, Alicia Palas, Hannah Peterson, Sarah Prophet, Felicia Rider, Sara Ross, Sara Roth, Caroline Sell, Sam Steierl, Sara Strever, Amelia Sutton, Ana Tallakson, Ellie Tallakson, Devon Turner, Matthew Vichlach, Lauren Waddle, and Allie Wirth. High school students Kyle Brown, Marta Hetrick, Jason Senchina, and Bethany Palas are working backstage.

Tickets are $5 and can be purchased at the Oster Regent box office.