Purple and Old Gold awards presented at UNI Commencement

Posted on Thursday, May 14th, 2015

Philip Patton, university registrar, registrar's office, 319-273-2244,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-2761,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Purple and Old Gold awards, recognizing meritorious scholarship or conspicuous achievement, were presented to 56 seniors during the University of Northern Iowa's Commencement ceremonies Saturday, May 9, in the UNI-Dome.

Named after the university colors, the traditional awards were first presented at Commencement ceremonies on May 29, 1939. The awards for meritorious scholarship are the highest university honor awarded by academic departments to undergraduate students. Those for conspicuous achievement are granted to students with outstanding accomplishments. Each student receives a certificate and a bronze medallion.

Since 1939, more than 2,050 students have been Purple and Old Gold recipients. Currently, awards may be in 54 academic areas, as well as for achievement in particular areas. 

Hometown                                                 Name, College

Alta                                                      Katie Jo Garrison, COE

Ankeny                                                Jonathan Dean Bethards, CHAS (fall 2014 graduate)

                                                            Suzanne Cronbaugh Sontag, CSBS 

Bristow                                                Julia Jeanne Lewis, Continuing Education and Special Programs

Burlington                                                Conner James Brakeville, CSBS

Cascade                                                Amy Michelle Peiffer, CBA

Cedar Falls                                            Anne Bridget Bryson, COE

                                                            Hannah Elizabeth Eilderts, CHAS

                                                            Victoria Marie Hurst, CSBS

                                                            Joseph A. Schumacher, CHAS

                                                            Emilie Shelby Wunder, CSBS (fall 2014 graduate) 

Cedar Rapids                                       Benjamin Tod Castle, CHAS

                                                            Karinne Nicole Graves, CHAS

                                                            Zachary Croix Kelchen, CHAS

Clinton                                                Ariana Marie Aquilani, CBA

Columbus Junction                                    Vanessa Espinoza, CHAS

Coralville                                                Ryan Francis Courtney, CHAS

Davenport                                                Kara Christine Poppe, CSBS

Denver                                                            Martha Clare Thurman, CHAS

Fairfield                                                Allissa Shance Buelow, CHAS

Fostoria                                                Morgan Scott Kramer, CHAS

Garner                                                            Blake Kyoo Risius, COE

Gilbertville                                                Joshua Eugene Frost, CHAS

                                                                Nicole Elizabeth Stone, COE (fall 2014 graduate)

Gladbrook                                                Angela M. Wrage, CHAS

Guttenberg                                                Abby Kathryn Kilstofte, CSBS

Grand Junction                                    Nathaniel John Beyerink, CHAS

Harlan                                                            Jordan Lindsay Brelje, CBA

Hawkeye                                                Randi Sue Bumgardner, CSBS (fall 2014 graduate)

Hiawatha                                                Jenna Victoria Lyons, CHAS

Iowa City                                                Aaron James Ottmar, CHAS (summer 2015 degree candidate)

Jefferson                                                Heather Elizabeth Vander Wilt, CHAS (fall 2014 graduate)

Lawler                                                            Madeline Grace Achen, CHAS

Le Grand                                                Trevor Michael Parrish, COE

Lisbon                                                            Alexina Ellen Wilson, COE

Mason City                                                Matthew Alan Patchen, CBA

Mount Vernon                                                Holly Maria Salz, CHAS

Muscatine                                                Shannon Irene Carlson, CHAS (fall 204 graduate)

Onslow                                                Bethany Carin Chatterton, CHAS

Pella                                                            Christopher James Madigan, CSBS (fall 2014 graduate)

                                                            Grace Elizabeth Vande Haar, CBA

                                                            Tricia Marie Wisniewski, CHAS

Polk City                                                Stephanie Lynn Kibby, CSBS

Reinbeck                                                Hayley Marie Downey, CSBS

Sheffield                                                Seth James Tuttle, COE

Stacyville                                                Abby Esther Goodale, CBA

Van Meter                                                Audrey Rose Grove, CBA

Vinton                                                            Corey C. Cooling, CHAS

Waterloo                                                Jonathan Thomas Heinzman, CBA

                                                            Olivia Grace Mossman, CHAS
Waverly                                                 Emily Ann Bruns, CSBS

West Des Moines                                     Linh Mai Ta, CHAS


Out-of-State Graduates

Denver, Colorado                                    Laysa Marie Shreves, COE (fall 2014 graduate)

Winnebago, Illinois                                     Larissa Ann Morrissey, COE

Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam                        Huy Ngoc Nguyen, CHAS