Share this

New Presidential Scholars begin studies on University of Northern Iowa campus<br>

September 8, 2002

Gretta Berghammer, chair, Presidential Scholars Board, (319) 273-2149
Carol Geiger, administrative assistant to the Vice President for Educational and Student Services, (319) 273-2331
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- A new class of Presidential Scholars has begun its studies on the University of Northern Iowa campus this fall.

____(Name)____ of ___(Address / Hometown)___ is among the eight students to receive the four-year, full-ride scholarships. They are funded through the Office of the President at UNI. The awards, which provide free tuition, room and board, and mandatory fees for health, student services and computer, are valued at $8,758 for Iowa residents and $15,066 for out-of-state students for the 2002-2003 academic year. The students must maintain the academic excellence for which the awards have been granted.

The select group will take part in scholars-only seminars, be eligible for special travel/study opportunities and receive extensive individual advising. All will be required to complete a senior thesis or project.

UNI President Robert Koob said, 'The University of Northern Iowa's Presidential Scholars program accords to students of exceptional academic performance the same recognition and financial aid benefits that universities have long accorded to students of exceptional athletic ability. The program represents a deep commitment to academic excellence at the University.'

Members of the Presidential Scholars Board are: Gretta Berghammer, chair, professor of theatre; Betty DeBerg, professor and head, Department of Philosophy and Religion; Beverly Kopper, professor of psychology; Vickie Robinson, assistant professor of education; Ira Simet, associate professor of chemistry; Robert Seager, professor of biology; Kathy Oakland, instructor in teaching; Harry Brod, professor of philosophy and humanities, and director of the University Honors Program; and Philip Patton, UNI Registrar.

Students who are in the top 10 percent of their high school class and who scored a 29 or higher on the ACT test are eligible to apply. Those in classes consisting of fewer than 50 people must be in the top 5 percent of their class. High school seniors interested in being considered for this award in the fall of 2003 need to be sure their applications are postmarked no later than Oct. 1.

Note: to obtain a complete list of the scholarship winners, please contact the Office of University Marketing & Public Relations at (319) 273-2761.