Share this

Girls State mayors and city council members elected <br>

June 10, 2002

Wendy Riggle, director, Iowa American Legion Auxiliary Girls State, (319) 273-7680 or (319) 222-1832
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-2761

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Mayors and city council members were elected to serve the mythical cities of Ladehoff, Hinderman, Hanson and Young on Monday, June 10, as Hawkeye Girls State activities continued on the University of Northern Iowa campus.

Inaugurated as mayors of the four cities were Rebecca Evans of Shelby, Ladehoff; Melanie Goering of Cedar Falls, Hinderman; Michelle Norton of Muscatine, Hanson; and Virginia Witherspoon of Ankeny, Young.

Among the high school students elected to city council positions at the Iowa American Legion Auxiliary sponsored program was (Name) of (Hometown) , elected to the office of (Office) .

The city councils began meeting Monday evening to appoint the rest of the city staff members, including treasurers, city clerks and police chiefs.

Girls State is a program established to provide high school women with an opportunity to learn about Iowa government at the city, county and state levels. The girls may run for office in the mythical ?State of Hawkeye,? and are encouraged to take an active role in many other facets of government throughout the week.

Each participant is pre-assigned to the ?Nationalist? or ?Federalist? parties, and lives in a precinct within a ward in a designated city and county. State office elections will be held Thursday.

Iowa Governor Tom Vilsack address the delegates at 11 a.m. Friday in the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center (GBPAC). Sherry McLaughlin of Vinton, National American Legion Auxiliary president, will administer the oaths of office to the newly-elected Girls State Governor and other state officials at inauguration ceremonies at 7 p.m. in the Great Hall of the GBPAC.

Girls State, now in its 57th session, began meeting on the UNI campus in 1952.