Share this

Cedar Valley Nonprofit Awards and Veridian Credit Union Community Engagement Awards announced

April 13, 2012

Julianne Gassman, director, UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, 319-273-2264,

Stacey Christensen, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – The University of Northern Iowa Nonprofit Leadership Alliance student association recognized outstanding nonprofit organizations, board members, collaborating businesses and nonprofit professionals in the Cedar Valley at the Nonprofit Awards Luncheon on Friday, April 13, in the UNI Commons Ballroom.

The award winners include: Waterloo Blackhawks, Nonprofit Business Partner of the Year; Orchard Hill Church, Harvest Vineyard and the Boys and Girls Club of the Cedar Valley, Bob Koob Award for Collaboration; Rev. Michael Blackwell, New City Ministries, Nonprofit Board Member of the Year; Jessica Fischer, Teen Trust, Gordon Mack Award for Student Leadership; Amy Costliow, Iowa Food Bank Association, New Nonprofit Employee of the Year; Lu Ann Wortham-Clayton, Iowa Heartland Habitat for Humanity, Legacy Award; Mary Ann Burk, Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, Nonprofit Staff Leader of the Year; and North Star Community Services, Exceptional Nonprofit of the Year.

The Veridian Credit Union Community Engagement awards were also presented. These awards are given to honor UNI faculty members who have enriched the quality of life in the Cedar Valley by strengthening relationships and sharing knowledge with local organizations. These award winners are: Julia Bullard, Jim O'Loughlin and Joyce Chen, all from the College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences.

The UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance is a student-run organization within the Division of Leisure, Youth and Human Services. It is a national certification program that prepares the next generation of nonprofit leaders through coursework, service projects, networking and professional development opportunities.

For more information on UNI's Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, visit