Carrie Chapman Catt Museum Project highlights Catt's life in Iowa

March 9, 2005

Aaris Sherin, UNI assistant professor of graphic design, (319) 273-2766
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-6728

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Aaris Sherin, University of Northern Iowa assistant professor of graphic design, is overseeing the design of educational panels and exhibits for the Carrie Chapman Catt Museum in her role as its creative director. The museum, located three miles southeast of Charles City, is Catt's childhood home, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Sherin and the UNI students working with her, are designing interactive exhibits about Catt, focusing on her connections to Iowa and her work for the women's suffrage movement. They will use text, imagery, artifacts and video to highlight how Catt's time in Iowa, first as a child growing up and then as a mature woman, influenced her character and the evolution of her core beliefs in women's rights, equality and pacifism.

'This project provides a unique chance for students to interface and interact with a diverse group of community leaders, an area non-profit agency, and historical and archival experts,' said Sherin.

(Name) a (classification) (major) major from (hometown) , is a part of the museum interiors design team.

Catt was a coordinator of the women's suffrage movement and revitalized the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA). She played an important role in its campaign that gave women the right to vote. In 1920, Catt founded the League of Women Voters.

Restoration began in early January; the anticipated completion date is August 26. Due to the restoration, the museum does not currently have regular hours. To arrange a visit to the Carrie Chapman Catt Museum, call (641) 228-3336.



CEDAR RAPIDS Aaron Brandt/senior fine/studio arts

Sarah Dukes/senior fine/studio arts

DENVER Renee Meyer/senior fine/studio arts

DES MOINES Jennie Maass/senior fine/studio arts

DUBUQUE Brian Deiter/senior marketing

ELY Matt Rowland/senior fine/studio arts

GOWRIE Alyssa Stokesbary/senior fine/studio arts

MARION Celeste Geralds/junior fine/studio arts

NEVADA Melissa Sayen/senior fine/studio arts

WATERLOO Todd Calfee/senior fine/studio arts