Share this

Alumni to return to UNI for Alumni in Residence program

April 8, 2014

Susan Reinart, UNI Foundation, 319-273-6078,

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-6728,

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Each spring departments at the University of Northern Iowa select distinguished graduates to participate in the Alumni in Residence program. These accomplished alumni return to campus to speak with students about their professional experiences and help them understand the connection between the theory they learn in the classroom and the practice in the professional world. Alumni also meet with faculty groups to discuss current trends and issues in the workplace, tour campus and visit with student organizations about how extracurricular experiences may open doors during their job searches. In addition, they are invited to attend a joint luncheon hosted by the UNI Alumni Association and UNI Foundation.

The selection of alumni participants and their Alumni in Residence experience is coordinated by each college. The 2014 class includes: 

College of Business Administration

-Accounting: Chris Terhark '92, director, Deloitte & Touche LLP

-Economics: David Jones '79, president & CEO, Grinnell State Bank

-Finance: Jay Doeden '85, director, Deloitte & Touche LLP

-Management: Brian Asmus '97, IT director, First Data Merchant Solutions

-Marketing: Pat McGrath '80, president, McGrath Automotive Group


College of Education

-Educational Leadership & Postsecondary Education: Clayton Wilcox '79, superintendent, Washington County Schools (Maryland)

-School of Health, Physical Education and Leisure Services: Shellie Pfohl '85, executive director, President's Council on Physical Fitness, Sports & Nutrition

-Educational Psychology & Foundations: Stan Slessor '70, G. Tyron and Associates

-Curriculum & Instruction: Mildred Middleton '43, retired educator


College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences           

-Biology: Daniel Fick '85, clinical professor and physician, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics 

-Math: Benjamine Wadsley '04, chief actuary, Transamerica Employer Solutions and Pensions, Cedar Rapids

-Earth Science: Nicholas Page '02, senior environmental specialist, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

-Physics: Cody Law '06, new product development engineer, John Deere, Waterloo

-Art: David Schmitz '06, community resource specialist, Iowa Arts Council

-Theatre: Angela Toomsen '97, director of content strategy and development, MedTouch

-Philosophy & World Religions: Jesse Sheedy '02, director, Faith Formation; James Svajgl '01, attorney, John C. Wunsch, P.C.; Wei-erh Chen '07, attorney, Stinson Leonard Street 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

-History: David VanSickel '74, attorney, Davis Brown Law Firm

-Psychology: Anne Starr '80, CEO, Orchard Place

-Political Science: Sarah Benzing '00, campaign manager for Bruce Braley

-Criminology/General Studies: Thomas Jennings '97, retired, Waterloo police chief

-Family Services/Sociology: Emily Thilges '02, guidance counselor, Denver Community Schools

For more information, contact Susan Reinart in the UNI Foundation at 319-273-6078 or